All 87 Minnesota Counties Approve Resolution in Support of Critical State Funding for Behavioral Health Crisis Centers

May 7, 2018

ST. PAUL, MN – Today, Association of Minnesota Counties President Susan Morris announced that every county in Minnesota – all 87 – has now taken formal affirmative action on a resolution that supports state capital investment for regional behavioral health crisis program facilities and permanent supportive housing for people with behavioral health needs.   A letter to legislators was delivered today with the announcement, along with a fact sheet and the sample resolution.

“County leaders across the state and across the political spectrum are unified in our top legislative priority this year: supporting funding for regional facilities to help those experiencing behavioral health crises in order to enhance the mental health continuum of care,” said Morris, an Isanti County Commissioner. “This will result in individuals being placed in appropriate settings in the community and will reduce the cost share pressure on county budgets and local taxpayers.”
“This legislation to fund more behavioral health crisis centers is vital to addressing some of the gaps in our state’s mental health system of care. We encourage legislators to support this thoughtful and important initiative,” said Ramsey County Commissioner Jim McDonough, a former President of the Association of Minnesota Counties.
“Counties throughout Minnesota are struggling to meet the behavioral health needs in our communities. This funding from the state legislature is absolutely needed as we work to build our state’s mental health system in an effective way for patients on behalf of taxpayers,” said Anoka County Commissioner Rhonda Sivarajah.